3 of my favorite Christmas songs


So far this has been a year of sharing favorites. I promise I’ll get back to doing some customs of Christmas from around the world soon. I have France’s Christmas customs nearly ready. So this month I’m sharing three of my favorite Christmas songs.

My all-time favorite is ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas by Fred Waring and the Pennsylvanians. Nowhere else do you get the entire Clement C. Moore poem set to music. The poem was set to music by Ken Darby who did a lot of work providing music for radio shows of the 1940s and 1950s. This song was first presented on the Fibber McGee and Molly show and was a perennial hit for several years as Molly, using the voice of Teeny, sang the song with Ken Darby and the Sportsmen Quartet on the show before Christmas. Fred Waring and the Pennsylvanians did a second version of the song that began in the middle of the poem. I prefer the version with the whole poem.

This next song, Feliz Navidad by Jose Feliciano, I’ll admit I didn’t like when I first heard it, but over the years I’ve come to look forward to listening to it at Christmastime. In the words of Jon Arbuckle’s mom in The Garfield Christmas Special, “It’s just not Christmas” without it. It’s a lively song that gets me into the Christmas mood whenever I listen to it.

My last song for this post is Silent Night as performed by Mannheim Steamroller. As the Christmas season gets more and more busy and hectic it is nice to hear a Christmas song that is relaxing that quiets the spirit. Sometimes while the song is playing I imagine that I’m walking through a snowy field on a clear star-filled night. Toward the end of the song, in my imagination, I look up and see a shooting star streaking across the sky. Or was it Santa?

Merry half-way-to-Christmas!

3 Comments »

  1. 1

    Lovely! I had not heard Mannheim Steamroller’s “Silent Night”; al though around where I live, many of the radio stations go ‘all-Christmas’ for a long time and they play MS’s “Deck the Halls” a lot.
    Sorry that I have been MIA,; even one of my own has been withering on the vine, I just hadn’t been getting to see my favorite blogs.I hope all is well with you, Tim.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

